Teen Magazine: Our Vision, Our Voice (Ages 13-17) for kids


Teen Magazine: Our Vision, Our Voice (Ages 13-17) image

RESCHEDULE IN PROCESS. DATE TBD. "Our Vision, Our Voice" is a free program for teen girls enrolled in the Rochester City School District who are interested in learning current technology and software to create and publish their own magazine. In this program, teen girls (ages 13-17) will produce a full-color magazine from concept and content creation to final design and layout.

Content for their magazine may include personal poems and stories; interviews with neighbors, teachers, and friends; photographs captured in both a professional lighting studio and out in the community; and drawings and digital illustrations. Please call the Photography & Digital Arts office at 585-271-5920 if you are interested in signing up.

Flower City Arts Center will provide the teachers, equipment, facilities usage, and all materials. All of the teachers and volunteers for this program are women in an arts, design, or journalism field providing mentorship and positive role models.

Skills include: Adobe Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator software; manually photographing with an EOS Rebel T6 DSLR camera; color theory; lighting techniques in a professional lighting studio; design and typography skills; magazine production; and more. Call 585-271-5920 or use the form below to register. Learn about membership.

Dates:
April 17th - June 27th, 2020
Cost:
Members: $0, Nonmembers: $0

Session 1: April 17-May 29 with In-House Artistic Staff


DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
1 Fri Apr 17 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
2 Sat Apr 18 10-1PM Digital Art Studio
3 Fri Apr 24 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
4 Fri May 01 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
5 Sat May 02 10-1PM Digital Art Studio
6 Fri May 08 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
7 Sat May 09 10-1PM Digital Art Studio
8 Fri May 15 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
9 Sat May 16 10-1PM Digital Art Studio
10 Fri May 22 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
11 Sat May 23 10-1PM Digital Art Studio
12 Fri May 29 4-7PM Digital Art Studio
13 Sat Jun 27 12-3PM TBD